Español Português 日本語 中文网站
Close login
Programs and Events
Ladas Memorial Award


The Ladas Memorial Award was established in memory of Stephen P. Ladas, distinguished practitioner and author. Funded by Ladas & Parry LLP, this yearly award is presented in Student and Professional categories for a paper on trademark law or a matter that directly relates to or affects trademarks.

The winning papers will be considered for possible publication in The Trademark Reporter (TMR), INTA’s legal journal. Publication will be subject to the TMR Committee’s editorial review and approval. 

Student Category

The top two papers in this category will be selected as award recipients and the winners will each receive:

  • Cash award of U.S. $2,500.
  • Complimentary registration to the 2017 Annual Meeting.

Professional Category

The top paper in this category will be selected as the award recipient and the winner will receive:

  • A set of Stephen P. Ladas’s three-volume treatise Patents, Trademarks, and Related Rights.
  • Complimentary registration to the 2017 Annual Meeting.

Official Rules and Requirements

The competition is now closed! The deadline for participation was Wednesday, January 18, 2017.

Winners will be announced in late March. 



 Current winners


2016 Ladas Memorial Award Winners 


Professional Category Winner

Christopher McElwain, LaRiviere, Grubman PC, High Stakes: Marijuana and the USPTO’s “[Lawful] Use” Registration Criterion

Student Category Winners

Kristyn Webb, Loyola College of Law, Issue Preclusion Prohibits a “Second Bite of the Apple” But Offers Opponent a Third Bite Instead

Kenneth Matuszewski, Chicago-Kent College of Law, Illinois Institute of Technology, Casting out Confusion: How Exclusive Appellate Jurisdiction in the Federal Circuit Would Clarify Trademark Law


 Past winners


2015 Ladas Memorial Award Winners 

Student Category Winners

Nellie Amjadi, Santa Clara University School of Law: Are the First Amendment’s Protections Too Big for Its Breeches?

Jamey Minnihan, Gonzaga Law School: Having Your Cake and Eating It Too: U.S. Treatment of Well-Known Foreign Trademarks and Its Global Market Implications

Professor Category Winner

Sandra Edelman, Dorsey & Whitney LLP: “Why Wait Three Years? Cancellation of Lanham Act”.