Español Português 日本語 中文网站
Programs and Events
Pattishall Medal for Teaching Excellence of Trademark and Trade Identity

The Pattishall Medal for Teaching Excellence was established by Pattishall, McAuliffe, Newbury, Hilliard & Geraldson LLP, in honor of Beverly W. Pattishall. The award recognizes educators in the business and legal fields for outstanding instruction in the trademark and trade identity field.

The Medal is presented every four years to the university or graduate school academic nominated by his/her peers or students who best exemplifies the qualities of excellence and innovation in teaching subjects related to trademarks and trade identity.

The winner of the Medal receives:

  • US $2,500
  • An invitation to INTA’s Leadership Meeting, where Association leaders and volunteers recognize award winners. The winner is reimbursed up to US $500 for travel to the meeting.


2016 Winner

Annette Kur, Affiliated Research Fellow, Max Planck Institute for Innovation and Competition 

Pattishall Medal Official Rules

The Pattishall Medal is open to business, marketing, technical and legal teaching professionals at the university and graduate school levels throughout the world.

To qualify as a “teaching professional,” an individual must:

  • Currently serve, or have served within the last three years as a full-time, part-time, or adjunct professor or lecturer at a college, university graduate school or law school;
  • Be engaged in teaching a course or program broadly related to trademark or trade identity subjects;
  • Be nominated by one or more of either their peers or current/former students. Peers include faculty (professors, lecturers, etc.) or academic administrators (heads of schools/deans) currently employed at the same academic institution as the nominee, or who know the nominee through professional association. Students include both current and former students who believe that the nominee influenced their lives and careers in a positive and profound way.

Criteria for Selection

Criteria for selection include excellence in teaching as demonstrated through:

  • Professional and / or academic recognition
  • Peer and student evaluation / nomination
  • Innovation in methodology and commitment to education in the field of trademarks and trade identity

Past Pattishall Medal Recipients

David Vaver, Professor of Intellectual Property Law, Osgoode Hall Law School, York University

Graeme Dinwoodie, Professor of Intellectual Property and Information Technology Law, University of Oxford