INTA Bulletin

October 15, 2012 Vol. 67 No. 18 Back to Bulletin Main Page

Louis T. Pirkey and Peter Harvey Win 2012 INTA President’s Awards

The 2012 INTA President’s Awards go to Louis T. Pirkey, of Pirkey Barber LLP in Austin, Texas, USA, and Peter Harvey, of Harvey Siskind LLP in San Francisco, California, USA.

The President’s Award is designed to acknowledge the profound appreciation of the global trademark community to individuals who over the course of a career in trademark and related IP law have made a lasting impact on INTA and the Association’s mission. Criteria for nomination are:
  • Consistently outstanding service to the Association through work on committees, task forces and/or the Board of Directors; 
  • Innovative approaches to the fulfillment of INTA’s mission that have had an enduring impact on the Association; and 
  • Role model and leader in the practice of trademark law.
Lou Pirkey’s contributions to INTA and to the trademark field are numerous. In addition to his many years of service on committees, task forces and on the Board of Directors, Lou was a member of the Trademark Review Commission, the Association group whose work led to a significant revision of the U.S. federal trademark law in 1988. Beyond INTA, Lou was the first trademark attorney to serve as president of the American Intellectual Property Law Association (AIPLA) and has served as an adjunct professor at the University of Texas School of Law for almost two decades.

Peter Harvey has served INTA as a member of many different committees, including as chair of the International, Forums, Meetings and Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) Committees, as co-chair of the 2002 Annual Meeting and on project teams for several other Annual Meetings and educational programs, on the Board of Directors and as INTA Counsel. Peter has been particularly active with the Association’s ADR projects and on the Panel of Neutrals, the INTA’s network of specially trained trademark mediators. In addition, Peter has held several trademark-related leadership roles in the American Bar Association and has for twelve years been an adjunct professor of entertainment and media law at the University of San Francisco School of Law.

The five categories of Volunteer Service Awards recognize those who provide exemplary volunteer service to the Association and to the broader public during a specific year. Subcommittee chairs, committee members and non-committee volunteers, such as speakers at INTA education programs and authors of INTA publications, are eligible for Volunteer Service Awards. Nominees must have shown exemplary volunteer service above and beyond their regular activities in the Association since the 2011 Leadership Meeting.

The award for the Advancement of Trademark Law recognizes individuals whose efforts during the year have led to the advancement of substantive trademark law and practice. This year’s winner is Olof Fickert, of Balder IP Law in Madrid, Spain.

This year’s award for the Advancement of Committee or Subcommittee Objectives goes to John C. McElwaine, of Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough LLP in Charleston, South Carolina, USA.

The award for the Advancement of the Association is presented to individuals whose participation, efforts and progressive thinking have most notably advanced the objectives of the Association as outlined in INTA’s Strategic Plan. The 2012 winners are Jeremy Newman, of Rouse Legal in London, UK, and Graciela Perez de Inzaurraga, of Hausheer Belgrano & Fernandez in Buenos Aires, Argentina.

The award for Pro Bono Services Provided by Individuals goes to Richard B. Biagi, of Neal & McDevitt LLC in Northfield, Illinois, USA, and Geri Haight, of Mintz Levin Cohen Ferris Glovsky and Popeo PC in Boston, Massachusetts, USA. The award for Pro Bono Services Provided by Organizations goes to Neal, Gerber & Eisenberg LLP in Chicago, Illinois, USA.

Awards will be presented at 10:10 am on Thursday, November 8 at this year’s INTA Leadership Meeting in Orlando, Florida, USA.

Complete coverage of the awards presentation and details on the award winners will appear in the December 1 INTA Bulletin.

Although every effort has been made to verify the accuracy of items in the INTA Bulletin, readers are urged to check independently on matters of specific concern or interest.

© 2012 International Trademark Association