Press Releases
Press Release

Jean-Claude Darné
Manager, Communications

Laura Heery
Coordinator, Communications
  The International Trademark Association Announces Pattishall Medal for Teaching Excellence Recipient

New York, NY
– August 11, 2016 – The International Trademark Association (INTA) is pleased to award the 2016 Pattishall Medal for Teaching Excellence to Professor Dr. Annette Kur, professor of Intellectual Property and Competition Law at Max Planck Institute for Innovation and Competition in Munich, Germany.

In honor of Beverly W. Pattishall, this award recognizes teaching professionals in the business and legal fields for outstanding instruction in the trademark and trade identity field. Beverly W. Pattishall was a long-time partner in the firm of Pattishall, McAuliffe, Newbury, Hilliard & Geraldson LLP. This award is presented every four years to a university or graduate school academic nominated by peers and students, and who best exemplifies the qualities of excellence and innovation in teaching subjects related to trademarks and trade identity.

Dr. Kur specializes in European and international trademark law, European industrial design law, and international procedural law in the field of intellectual property. She received her doctorate in 1981 and has been a research fellow at the Institute since 1980. During her career, Dr. Kur has served as an Associate Professor at the University of Stockholm, member of New York University’s Global Program, a consultant to the American Law Institute and President elect of the Association for the Advancement of Teaching and Research in Intellectual Property.

Dr. Kur received an outstanding 18 nominations for this award. In one of the nominations, a former student described Dr. Kur as, “not only instrumental in triggering [her] interest in intellectual property law and its international context, she has also profoundly influenced [her] outlook on trademark and design law by favoring a critical approach, rooted in legal principles, and promoting awareness and consistency of the international context in an area as internationalized as trademark law.”

“It is evident in the numerous nominations that Dr. Kur embodies the qualities of a world-class teaching professional and Pattishall Medal Award recipient. Dr. Kur’s dedication and commitment to education is exemplary and our Association is pleased to have this opportunity to recognize her achievements in the classroom,” said 2016 INTA President Ronald van Tuijl. “We are honored to present Dr. Kur with this award.”

Dr. Kur will receive US $2,500 along with an invitation to attend INTA’s Leadership Meeting in Florida in November, where she will be formally presented with the award.

Please visit the INTA Blog for more information about the Pattishall award and Dr. Kur’s nomination.

About INTA
The International Trademark Association (INTA) is the global association of trademark owners and professionals dedicated to supporting trademarks and related intellectual property in order to protect consumers and to promote fair and effective commerce. Members include more than 6,700 trademark owners, professionals and academics from more than 190 countries, who benefit from the Association’s global trademark resources, policy development, education and training, and international network. Founded in 1878, INTA is headquartered in New York City, with offices in Brussels, Shanghai and Washington, D.C., and representatives in Geneva and Mumbai.