Volunteer Awards
Membership and Committees
Volunteer Awards
2017 President's Award

President Award Banner

Gerhard Bauer, IP Consultant (Stuttgart, Germany)

Gerhard Bauer has been an INTA member since 1998. He joined the Board of Directors in 2004 and served as INTA President in 2011. Mr. Bauer headed the search committee for INTA’s new CEO beginning in 2012, and was instrumental in INTA’s efforts to help Mexico and Colombia accede to the Madrid Protocol through his participation in numerous delegations and advocacy campaigns. 

Over the years, Mr. Bauer has been active on many committees, including the Executive Committee, Finance Committee, Nominating Committee, and the 2008 Annual Meeting Project Team. INTA thanks Mr. Bauer for his leadership, passion, and tireless work for the Association. As one of his peers noted, he has been “an exceptional representative of INTA.” 

Theodore (“Ted”) H. Davis, Jr., Partner, Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton LLP (Atlanta, Georgia, United States)

As a trademark attorney for 27 years and active in INTA since 1991, Ted Davis has had a profound influence on the Association and on U.S. trademark policy. His peers describe him as a legal icon, a terrific writer, and a tireless volunteer. Mr. Davis is best known for his work on The Trademark Reporter’s United States Annual Review, which he has co-authored for the past 17 years. He has also taken the lead in drafting a number of INTA’s amicus briefs, some of which were filed with the U.S. Supreme Court.

Mr. Davis has served on the Executive Board of INTA’s Board of Directors, as chair of the International Amicus Committee, Chair of the Famous and Well-Known Marks task force, and as a member of many other committees and task forces, including serving on the Editorial Board of The Trademark Reporter. INTA congratulates him for, as one member who nominated him said, “excelling in every capacity in which he has served.”