Congratulations to the 2020 Ladas Memorial Award Winners

Published: May 29, 2020


INTA congratulates the winners of the Association’s 2020 Ladas Memorial Award.  Kathleen E. McCarthy, former Editor-in-Chief of The Trademark Reporter (TMR) and current TMR Advisory Board member, won in the Professional Category for her TMR article Free Ride or Free Speech? Predicting Results and Providing Advice for Trademark Disputes Involving Parody, 109 TMR 691 (2019). The winners in the student category both attend the Florida International University College of Law: Emily Mola, for her paper, Trademark Laws Capability to Protect Traditional Cultural Expressions from Unauthorized Borrowing and Theft, and Pablo Balañá, for his paper Birth, Metamorphosis, and Resurrection: Let the “Little” Havana Club Prevail.