Rising Stars Continue to Shine at Meeting with INTA Leaders

Published: November 1, 2023

The Rising Star program was launched late last year to identify and cultivate future leaders and contributors to the intellectual property (IP) profession. For this initiative, committee chairs, vice chairs, and staff liaisons were asked to identify Rising Stars within the Association based on who has demonstrated commitment to contributing to the IP profession or INTA by exemplifying substantive IP or dynamic skills through achievements within or outside the Association (as speaker, author, Project Team contributor, committee contributor, etc.).

At the gathering of this first group of Rising Stars, INTA CEO Etienne Sanz de Acedo shared an “INTA 101” presentation, providing an overview of INTA’s priorities and primary activities. Then, INTA President Jomarie Fredericks, Past Presidents Toe Su Aung, Ayala Deutsch, and David Lossignol, along with Past Counsel Maury Tepper, shared their journeys of personal and professional development within INTA.

A common theme shared by these experienced leaders was, “You get out of your time with INTA, what you put into it. Your success and your advancement in the organization will absolutely be driven by your engagement and contributions.” Besides the business development opportunities that come from INTA involvement, some of the many insightful and informative comments offered by the experienced leaders included:

  • Don’t be shy—ask questions and share your views, even if they may differ from those of others, because it is important to understand all sides of an issue in order to make informed decisions. Your voice can help shape laws, policy, and how the world views trademarks and branding.
  • Take advantage of the opportunities to develop your leadership and project management skills through committee work and ad hoc projects so you can apply these skills to your own job. Show your employer how being a part of INTA makes you a better leader within your own organization.
  • Get to know your committee staff liaison and share your areas of interest and expertise with them so they know that you are a potential resource for programming or ad hoc work on these topics.

Mr. Sanz de Acedo concluded the meeting by thanking the experienced leaders for sharing their INTA journeys and thanking the Rising Stars for all that they have already contributed to INTA. He encouraged them to stay involved and continue making a meaningful impact within our INTA community and beyond.

Committee leaders and staff liaisons will be asked to identify the next group of Rising Stars by December, so stay tuned!

Join us in congratulating our Rising Stars!

Andrew Abrams, Google (USA) Agnese Gerhard, COBALT (Latvia) Moish Peltz, Falcon Rappaport & Berkman LLP (USA)
Rasha Al Ardah, Al Tamimi & Company (United Arab Emirates) Kevin Han, Gen Law Firm (China) Sarka Petivlasova, Hogan Lovells (Alicante) SL y Cia. (Spain)
Anay Amin, Y.J. Trivedi & Co. (India) Simon Hitchens, Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP (Canada) Raluca Popovici, St. Lawrence Law Firm LLP (Canada)
Ilona Boliubash, Mamunya IP (Ukraine) Ploynapa Julagasigorn (Thailand)

Arjun Khurana, G&W Legal (India)

Radhika Raju, Wilkinson Barker Knauer LLP (USA)
Alejandra Camacho, Fross Zelnick Lehrman & Zissu, P.C. (USA) Taras Kulbaba, Bukovnik & Kulbaba IP Guardians (Belgium) Madhu Rewari, Anand and Anand Advocates (India)
Karen Carlson, Yahoo (USA) Sarah Sue Landau, Cowan, Liebowitz & Latman, P.C. (USA) Anshul Saurastri, KRISHNA & SAURASTRI ASSOCIATES LLP (India)
Yixian Chen, Jones Law Professional Corporation (Canada) Joseph Lawlor, Haynes and Boone, LLP (USA) Stefanie Schodrof, GEVERS (Belgium)
Dasha Chestukhin, Cowan, Liebowitz & Latman, P.C. (USA) Maria Fe Lazarte, Weir Group PLC (Australia) Courtney Shansky, VIATRIS (USA)
Sher Hann Chua, Tilleke & Gibbins International Ltd (Thailand) Konstantinos Logaras, Loaras & Associates (Greece) Christine Strutt, Von Seidels (South Africa)
Purva Chugh, IPR International Services (India) Korto Lyons, Meta Platforms, Inc. (USA) Elisa Tricerri, Studio Torta S.p.A. (Italy)
Soley Coban, Deris (Turkey) Katja Middelhoff, CMS (Germany) Sanaya Vachha, Vellani & Vellani (Pakistan)
Askan Deutsch, FPS Fritze Wicke Seelig (Germany) Cassio Mosse, MOSSE IP, Fashion and Social Media Law (Brazil) Jesús Enrique Vargas, Keltie (United Kingdom)
Aline Deux, Novartis International AG (Switzerland) Perpetua Mwangi, Simba & Simba Advocates (Kenya) Lindsay Victor, Home Depot U.S.A., Inc. (USA)
Emil Edissonov, CURELL SUNOL S.L.P. (Spain) Shoko Naruo, Thompson Coburn LLP (USA) Amanda Wu, Apple, Inc. (China)
Ivy Estoesta, Sterne, Kessler, Goldstein & Fox P.L.L.C. (USA) Astha Negi, Fidus Law Chambers (India) Alicja Zalewska-Orabona, CMS (Poland)
Sonia Florea, SCPA Florea Georghe and Associates (Romania) Efraín Olmedo Velazquez, Santamarina y Steta S.C. (Mexico)
Mathilde Florenson, The Law Office of Carrie Hedayati (USA) David Opijah, Bowmans Kenya (Coulson Harney LLP) (Kenya)
Rafael Garutti, CNV Advogados (Brazil) Anupam Pandey, Attorney (India)



Although every effort has been made to verify the accuracy of this article, readers are urged to check independently on matters of specific concern or interest.

© 2023 International Trademark Association